Ice ice baby

I know some of you have read the athletic medicine blog post link Scott shared:
http://athleticmedicine.wordpress.com/2013/11/07/why-ice-and-anti-inflammatory-medication-is-not-the-answer/

After our discussion this summer and reading that blog post I have evaluated why I was applying some sort of cryotherapy to patients.
It used to be the turkey in the oven theory, it’s what I have always done. While tossing things around in my brain it hit me…. the game ready, a machine I used religiously when I personally had bilateral MCL sprains( a freak hockey incident) is a contradiction. Please correct me if I am wrong, but it was created to help move swelling out of a joint into a larger body mass to be reabsorbed. I understand what the inventors were thinking… cryotherapy= decrease in swelling, and compression= decrease in swelling through movement to promote reabsorbtion. The flaw that I noticed was cryotherapy constricts the blood vessels and lymph system, thus the swelling has no way to move. I do believe there are some situation that ice and compression are a great modality together but not in the use of reabsorbtion. Just a thought I wanted to share and to see if I was right or wrong.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice ice baby

  1. Thanks for posting this! It certainly is controversial and against all we have been taught!

  2. mato0422 says:

    It would be interesting to see effects of just compression compared to cryotherapy & compression. Maybe it’s already been done, I’ll look for some articles about it tonight. If I’m not mistaken you can use warm water in gamereadys as well. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

